Posts tagged review

Dec 27 2012

image

a skeletal, severely abbreviated fraction of autobiography. reading more like excerpted annotated outlines of a memoir, barely stretching just over a hundred pages padded with ample textless chapter divisions etc.  worth it for the inimitable Chet Baker deadpan —near catatonic— stoicism that somehow, in its seemingly para-human indifference and detachment, conveys such an elevated sensitivity, psychic fragility and diffuse air of melancholy and portent that only such impassivity could delicately enough carry.  and also for vignettes like these:

[of his experience aboard a troopship bound for Germany after enlisting in the Army illegally at 16] There was vomit everywhere, you could not escape the smell of it no matter where you went on the ship. Since there wasn’t anything alcoholic to drink, some of the guys mixed Aqua Velva with fruit juice. Everyone was getting loaded and fighting. Some went blind from the noxious aftershave mixture. Altogether, it was a trip I could not easily forget.

I spent a couple of weeks at her apartment, but unfortunately some joker ripped off the door of her Corvette when I was using the car. He didn’t even stop. We had a few words about that, and fought about some other things as well. It all ended in my telling her to get fucked.

[of being brought to court on drug charges in England] I really couldn’t take the whole thing seriously. All those seemingly pompous fools with their white wigs. Needless to say, I was found guilty by his lordship.

despite its brevity, a satisfying, shimmering glimpse into imo one of the top 5 most compelling voices in all recorded music (and pretty standard mid-century jazz-genius-junkie archetype).  for a longer look, a couple biographies are supposed to be good, but u prob cant do better than this


Aug 8 2012

Nocturnes for the King of Naples (Edmund White)

i just. really loved it.

somewhat slow-going and hard to read cuz of the mercurial, impressionistic prose, but for the same reason prob the most unique and enthralling reading experience i can remember.

↓↓↓↓↓↓

Read More


May 26 2012

the hallucinatory quality of his visionary projections & the insight of omnipresent dysfunction in all levels & generations of tech, make the difference


Dec 26 2011

i love lana del rey.

idgaf.

i love her for all the reasons ppl r ambivalent about/h8 on her: deeply problematized/unchartable authenticity, tranny-chic appearance, lack of any sort of totality, desperate & severe ‘omega point' hauntology without being as egregiously ‘retro’ as amy winehouse or adele, so i can actually stand her music.

(i honestly prefer the ‘pre-video’)

stevie nicks growl, cinematic melodrama, amenability to epic remixes, narcotic melody, doom, fatalism, whorishness, paz de la huerta. 

Video Games (BALAM ACAB Remix) - Lana Del Rey by BALAM ACAB

im also not paying that close attention, which always helps. 


Jul 3 2011

its like antony meets arthur russell meets fever ray meets the mortal coil meets planningtorock meets jamie woon meets ________ all in a google+ ‘hangout’

really like 2/3rds feeling these Danes.

first i heard from them i wasnt sure how i felt. i think 2/3rds is pretty good.  mostly looking forward to remixes.  the Nicolas Jaar (embedded above) is fan and the dOP is tite.

 

cr33py

this vid is kinda a bummer


May 26 2011

eh.

↓↓↓

Read More


Apr 11 2011

H8ED IT

especially bc according to everything about it I should have loved it. NOPE. terrible. 

like 3 moments i enjoyed.  hot mess and not in any of the good ways. im so mad about the time i wasted finishing it that im not gonna waste anymore justifying my reaction to it.  suffice to say its not any of the things its jacket blurbs claim it to be. it is not pervy, unhinged, visionary, or exhilarating.  its mundane other than how exceptionally amateur it is. again not in any of the good ways.

the only thing i can attribute the various rave reviews to is that maybe it makes boring old people feel ‘young and edgy’ the same way listening to atmosphere or whatever made suburban kids feel ‘urban’

an episode of fashion police with joan rivers is more transgressive.


Feb 10 2011
a dick-cringing good time. 2 severed phalli up. 
#ouch

a dick-cringing good time. 2 severed phalli up. 

#ouch


Jan 2 2011

the pre-twitter aphoristic urge

after the schtick (vulgar-parables-of-pomo-truisms / porn-derived ontological insights / cheap ‘jarring’ juxtapositions / violent erotic fantasies about Wendy) is well established, the shock-value wears thin. a dearth of original ideas or insights weighs it down and what profundity there is is mostly precocious-highschooler-with-a-predilection-towards-drugs-and-perversity profundity. but it def has it’s moments.

Read More


Oct 16 2010

Maggie Nelson, ‘Bluets’

Bluets

Bluets by Maggie Nelson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

click below for mad wordz

Read More


Oct 9 2010

is ur brain ur brain? (or, ‘u have nothing to ____ except your ____’)

fuck yes i love when my random vhs buys turn out amazing.

had myself a little home style double feature the other night, courtesy of two (out of approximately 3 million) VHS I picked up @ Pop Fuzz in Williamsburg over the weekend…

Read More